Options

"Samples for X-Prediction?"

mstuebnermstuebner Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
edited May 2019 in Help
Hello,

I'm quite new to Rapidminer, so I still struggle with some details, i.e. for X-Prediction. Especially in the german manual, it starts to describe a very useful example, where a lable/target variable is known for some records and shall be predicted for the rest.

Unformatunately the description of this scenario is interrupted before any detail, i.e. which operator etc.

I think that X-Prediction is the right one, but didn't find any samples how to implement it. At least I guess that the training and test part of a X-Prediction needs to be filled with some blocks/operators by ths user?

I would think that the scenario to predict a feature for records, based on a given subset is used quite often. So can someone point me to some samples or some web sites with information that can guide me further?

Thanks in advance,
Matthias
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    haddockhaddock Member Posts: 849 Maven
    Greets, and welcome!

In your position I'd check out the videos on the main website http://rapid-i.com/content/view/189/198/, and then work through the examples in Help->Tutorials ( which cover XVal ).

• Options
    haddock wrote:

Greets, and welcome!

In your position I'd check out the videos on the main website http://rapid-i.com/content/view/189/198/, and then work through the examples in Help->Tutorials ( which cover XVal ).
    Thanx for your welcome. What you recommend is what I'm doing right now. I found that X-Validation is partly covered by examples, but X-Prediction isn't, or am I wrong looking after X-Prediction?

Finally I need to predict records, based on records I measured before. Is there a better way?
    Beside as my background isn't statistics, but telecoms industry, are there some pointer to material to improve my background knowledge?

Thanks,
    Matthias
  • Options
    fischerfischer Member Posts: 439 Maven
    Hi,