Options

"Time Series Analysis with two sources of data"

drobertson123drobertson123 Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
edited May 2019 in Help
Hello

I am relatively new to Rapid Miner, but have been doing complex data analysis for years.  I am attempting to get up to speed for a project and hoping someone could send me in the right direction.

My project consists of analysing two time series data files.  The first data file consists of inventory changes and transactions data from multiple sources.  Each time a change happens there is a new data line that contains a snapshot of all the different sources of data.  The data is logged at the moment of the change and is not normalized to any specific time period so the information is irregular or heteroskedastic.

The second file is a timestamped listing of quoted price changes.  Once again this data is spaced irregularly in time (heteroskedastic).

Based on the information I have I would like to determine if I have any ability to predict the following things;

1.  Will there be a quoted price change in the next X period?
2.  What direction/magnitude will the price change be?
3.  Will the price be stable or revert back?

I am not looking for anyone to do my project for me, but I would greatly apreciate someone sending me in the right direction.  Being new to Rapid Miner I am not sure where to find good examples or if this is even possible.  Any advice or links to similar projects would be greatly apreciated.  If I am successful I will happily share back my aproach in case it is useful to others.

Thanks for the help,
Doug Robertson
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder
    Hi Doug,