Options

"Version 5 documentation

carmitcarmit Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
edited May 2019 in Help
Hi RM,
I'm new to RM but not to the opensource community.
I must say I have never encountered an opensource project with such a steep learning curve and so little documentation - close to none.
Since there are no examples anywhere to be found which do not contain deprecated methods, I have to figure it all out on my own.
Meanwhile the API is no help either.
For example, in order to not load the jdbs, the API (and Wiki) suggests setting some properties to false.
However this does not help and looking inside the code (with a debugger) I see that reading these properties has been commented out!!!
So please understand my frustration and helplessness.
It would be a TREMENDOUS help if you could please post a full working code example that does something, for example the code for one of the examples in the tutorial (but Java code, not reading an xml file), together with the data file.
The more of these examples you post, the better.
Please help your faithful users!!
Thanks
Carmit

Answers

• Options
    haddockhaddock Member Posts: 849 Maven
    Hi there,

Because you are new to RapidMiner you may not know where all the documentation is, for instance..

http://rapid-i.com/component/option,com_virtuemart/page,shop.browse/category_id,5/Itemid,180/

I am an absolute moron, and yet have managed to write my own operators, so for a smart fellow like yourself it should present no problems at all.

Have fun!
  • Options
    Thank you for your kind reply, leading me to conference proceedings and a 43-page long manual which is simply NOT ENOUGH as a start for a total newbie.
    I have spent close to a week trying to figure out how to solve this mystery which is RM, and I can't afford to spend any more.
    Opensource projects of much lower complexity than RM have plenty of up-to-date documentation & examples.