Options

"Financial modeling, with a small twist"

chanelopschanelops Member Posts: 14 Contributor II
edited May 2019 in Help
Hello all,

I'm developing a forecasting model for financial securities.  I've done this many times, but this will be the first time with RM.

Once thing that is a bit unusual is that I want to optimize the model on total trade returns, not accuracy.  Since I'm a newbie to RM, it's a bit unclear as to how I do that.  I'm thinking that maybe I could use either the Performance operator or the Performance (User-Based) operator.

On the other hand, there may well be a better and easier way to do this.  I'm not looking for someone to solve this problem for me, but if anyone has any hints or can provide a gentle nudge in which direction to go, it would be much appreciated.

And if there are any examples out there of someone already having done this, that would be wonderful.  I have done some looking, but so far I have not found anything.  (I assume that it would have to work with time series, by the way, unless someone can convince me otherwise)

Thanks much.
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    landland RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 2,531 Unicorn
    Hi,
    you could use the "Extract Performance" operator to get a performance value from a data set. If you have an attribute column that gives you the trade return of each example, you can use the "statistics" mode and enter the attribute's name. This way the performance will be the sum of all returns divided by number of trades. This should be optimal for optimizing the inner modelling algorithm.

Greetings,
    Sebastian
  • Options
    Hi Sebastian,

Thank you very much for the pointer.  Let me get to work on it, and I'll report back.

• Options