Options

[SOLVED] Assigning value types

steinarsteinar Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi

I'm just beginning with RapidMiner, but have gone through some tutorials. None seem to address this problem.

The data set I'm working with is huge and has over 1000 attributes. When I import it from a csv file, RM guesses the attribute types. The majority of my attributes should be binomial, but RM thinks they are integers. Is there a way to assign them all as binomial at once without having to click on each column and choose binomial?

Also, is there a way to change these definitions once the data has been stored in a repository?

Best regards,
Steinar

Answers

• Options
    MariusHelfMariusHelf RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,869 Unicorn
    Hi Steinar,

I currently know of no possibility to automatically assign types to the attributes in the Read CSV operator, which are different to those guessed by RapidMiner. But you can use the Parse Numbers operator to convert all or some nominal attributes to numbers.

Cheers,
    Marius
  • Options
    Thank you. I guess I'll just have to manually click then. It only takes me about half an hour for each set...

I was hoping there was something like in RDS in which you can define the attributes in your spreadsheet program and then just define the row like you do with name and unit in RM.
  • Options
    Sorry, I read something wrong in your first post. Maybe the Numerical to Binominal operator might help you. Just have a look in the Data Transformation group in the operator tree view.

It is currently not possible to add the attribute type as annotation. Maybe this could be a useful feature for the future.

Regards,
    Marius
  • Options