Due to recent updates, all users are required to create an Altair One account to login to the RapidMiner community. Click the Register button to create your account using the same email that you have previously used to login to the RapidMiner community. This will ensure that any previously created content will be synced to your Altair One account. Once you login, you will be asked to provide a username that identifies you to other Community users. Email us at Community with questions.

"[SOLVED] can't get decision tree to work"

mefisto66mefisto66 Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
edited June 2019 in Help
Hello,

I'm new to rapid miner and I'm trying to create a decision tree which ultimately shows variables that lead people to churn. I got the data from here:

http://www.dataminingconsultant.com/data/churn.txt

I first saved it as a csv file. Imported into rapidminer and set everything as nominal.  phone# as ID, churn as label, and everything else as attribute.

from there I put the data linked to to a x-validation operator, and when I run it, the tree only shows up one box (leaf, node?) sorry it might be a stupid question, but is the first process I do in rapid miner.

any help greatly appreciated.
Tagged:

Answers

• earmijoearmijo Member Posts: 271 Unicorn
    What version of RapidMiner are you using?

I use that dataset to teach DataMining and was having the same problem you are having. So I was going to post a comment about the dataset but decided to give a try one more time with version 5.2. It turns out that the problem has been fixed.

• mefisto66mefisto66 Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
    I just downloaded it five days ago.So I have the latest version, I can't check rigt now because I'm away from my computer.

if I may ask.what attributes did you give to the data when you imported it? I'm thinking that might be it.
  • earmijoearmijo Member Posts: 271 Unicorn
    I used:

label: churn
    id: phone number

attributes: all other ,