Options

READ BEFORE POSTING: Frequently Asked Questions

MariusHelfMariusHelf RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,869 Unicorn
edited November 2018 in Help
This topic collects the most frequently asked questions in this forum. It is based on the feedback of our users, that is you. Keep on rocking!

I am a beginner with data mining and/or RapidMiner, where should I get started?
Answer: Checkout the documentation page on our website. Especially the video tutorials are a good entry point.

Attribute X is not shown in the drop-down list of Select Attributes (Set Role, Sort, ...), but I'm sure it is in my data
Short answer: Instead of searching the attribute in the list, just type it in the textfield on top. That's possible even if the attribute is not contained in the list.
Long answer: RapidMiner compiles the attribute list without actually running the process, but just guesses them from the input data and the operators which are applied on the data. However, there are some operations where the output of the operator cannot be determined without running it or looking at the complete data. Think of the Pivot operator, wordlists from text mining and alike. In this case, the selection list does not list all attributes which will be present on the actual processed data.

Why does my Decision Tree contain only one node?
RapidMiner's decision tree has a "minimal gain" parameter. If a new node would not result in at least that increase of model performance, the algorithm stops. Try to decrease the parameter value if you want deeper trees. But you should carefully evaluate your models and compare different parameter settings. For that you should have a look at the Optimize Parameters operator.

How do I visualize my data?
Please have a look at this post: http://rapid-i.com/rapidforum/index.php/topic,6141.msg21562.html#msg21562

Generate Attributes does not work with attributes like sum(a1)