Options

Invoking RapidMiner using a method call on a Java class on a Tomcat server

Rick4031Rick4031 Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
I am new to RapidMiner so I apologize upfront for my inexperience. I have written a web application in Flex/ActionScript that learners and educators can use to create a case formulation based on a given scenario. Their formulations are indented outlines of text that integrate knowledge with the particular observations in the scenario. I have used RapidMiner GUI to compare the two documents for similarity by entering each directly into its own create document operator which then serve as inputs to a single Process Documents operator, which is then connected to a Data to Similarity operator and this works fine.

I want to do the same using a remote method call to a java class on a Tomcat server and I cannot for the life of me (actually only 3 straight days) figure out how to set this up.

Flex applications can make a remote call with parameters to a java class on the Tomcat server and invoke a method in that class. I am trying configure this method so it will receive two large strings, the learner’s formulation and the educator’s formulation which I have shortened below to save space, and then run RapidMiner using the DocumentCompare.rmp listed below. When completed I need it to return an object back to Flex that contains the result. I need help with setting up the method and knowing where on the Tomcat server that I should put the DocumentCompare.rmp file so RapidMiner can find it. Thank you in advance for any help that you can offer.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<process version="5.2.008">
  <context>
    <input/>
    <output/>
    <macros/>
  </context>
  <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" name="Process">
    <process expanded="true" height="581" width="872">