The Altair Community is migrating to a new platform to provide a better experience for you. The RapidMiner Community will merge with the Altair Community at the same time. In preparation for the migration, both communities are on read-only mode from July 15th - July 24th, 2024. Technical support via cases will continue to work as is. For any urgent requests from Students/Faculty members, please submit the form linked here.
Options

[Solved]Convert Graphical Design to Commands in CLI

aryan_hosseinzaaryan_hosseinza Member Posts: 74 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi everybody,

I've been working with the GUI version of rapidminer up until now , but now I have to run the things on a remote linux system which only provides CLI and not a GUI ,

I'd like to know if there's any way to convert what the design in GUI (all those operators and settings and connections and settings) to arguments which can be executed in CLI,  

(e.g. one of the possible solutions that I think is to first create the whole process in the RapidMiner GUI and then feed the rmp file into rapidminer in command line , but how can I do that and I don't know if it is possible)


Best REgards,
Arian

Answers

  • Options
    aryan_hosseinzaaryan_hosseinza Member Posts: 74 Contributor II
    I tried : java -Xmx6G -jar rapidminer/lib/rapidminer.jar -f //NewLocalRepository/Feature_Selection but nothing resulted ! 

    17-Nov-2012 7:34:22 AM com.rapidminer.tools.ParameterService init
    INFO: Reading configuration resource com/rapidminer/resources/rapidminerrc.
    17-Nov-2012 7:34:22 AM com.rapidminer.tools.LaunchListener installListener
    INFO: Listening for other instances on port 59254. Writing /home/arian/.RapidMiner5/socket.
    java com.rapidminer.gui.RapidMinerGUI [processfile]
  • Options
    wesselwessel Member Posts: 537 Maven
    java -cp rapidminer.jar com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine //rapidminer_repository_ALIAS/path_to_process/process
  • Options
    aryan_hosseinzaaryan_hosseinza Member Posts: 74 Contributor II
    How Can I set the repository address ? I mean  "//rapidminer_repository_ALIAS/path_to_process/process" shouldn't be set before executing this command ?
  • Options
    wesselwessel Member Posts: 537 Maven
    What error are you getting when using com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine?

    As far as I recall, the -f thing is for a windows script, which uses com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine internally.

    Best regards,

    Wessel
  • Options
    wesselwessel Member Posts: 537 Maven
    $JAVA \
       -Xmx${MAX_JAVA_MEMORY}m \
       -XX:MaxPermSize=128m\
    -cp ${CLASSPATH} \
    -Drapidminer.home=${RAPIDMINER_HOME} \
    -Drapidminer.operators.additional=${RAPIDMINER_OPERATORS_ADDITIONAL} \
    ${RAPIDMINER_JDBC_DRIVER_PARAMETER} \
    com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine $


    Note that there is no "-f" here.
  • Options
    aryan_hosseinzaaryan_hosseinza Member Posts: 74 Contributor II
    I created a folder (RMRepository2) in folder /rapidminer and I put my files there , but when I run the following command , it doesn't execute the process


    Command :
    user@Server:~/rapidminer$ java -Xmx2G -jar lib/rapidminer.jar com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine //RMRepository/Feature_Selection_2.rmp

    Result :
    Nov 17, 2012 10:19:49 AM com.rapidminer.tools.ParameterService init
    INFO: Reading configuration resource com/rapidminer/resources/rapidminerrc.
    Nov 17, 2012 10:19:49 AM com.rapidminer.tools.LaunchListener installListener
    INFO: Listening for other instances on port 38603. Writing /home/arian/.RapidMiner5/socket.
    java com.rapidminer.gui.RapidMinerGUI [processfile]

    Best Regards,
    Arian
  • Options
    wesselwessel Member Posts: 537 Maven
    Create a script that generates some data and writes this to a file.
    Make sure the script doesn't load anything from the repository.
    If this script does run, there is a problem with setting the correct relative path, which is always difficult.

    Best regards,

    Wessel
  • Options
    aryan_hosseinzaaryan_hosseinza Member Posts: 74 Contributor II
    I tried the following code which generates a dataset but it still doesn't work !

    The remote system is a linux ubuntu , I copied the rapidminer to the home/user folder and created a Repository folder in /home/user/rapidminer , and then I copied the following files in to the repository :

    massive_data_generator_feature_selection_.properties
    massive_data_generator_feature_selection_.rmp

    then, I executed the following command :
    user@server:~/rapidminer$ java -Xmx2G -jar lib/rapidminer.jar com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine //RMRepository2/massive_data_generator_feature_selection_.rmp

    result:
    Nov 17, 2012 7:08:47 PM com.rapidminer.tools.ParameterService init
    INFO: Reading configuration resource com/rapidminer/resources/rapidminerrc.
    Nov 17, 2012 7:08:47 PM com.rapidminer.tools.LaunchListener installListener
    INFO: Listening for other instances on port 51991. Writing /home/arian/.RapidMiner5/socket.
    java com.rapidminer.gui.RapidMinerGUI [processfile]

    Do you think the problem is with the relative path ?  how can I make it run ?

    Regards,
    Arian

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
    <process version="5.2.008">
      <context>
        <input/>
        <output/>
        <macros/>
      </context>
      <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" name="Process">
        <process expanded="true" height="494" width="1016">
          <operator activated="true" class="generate_massive_data" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="60" name="Generate Massive Data" width="90" x="112" y="75">
            <parameter key="number_examples" value="1000"/>
            <parameter key="number_attributes" value="100"/>
            <parameter key="sparse_fraction" value="0.95"/>
          </operator>
          <operator activated="true" class="nominal_to_binominal" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="94" name="Nominal to Binominal" width="90" x="313" y="75">
            <parameter key="attribute_filter_type" value="single"/>
            <parameter key="attribute" value="label"/>
          </operator>
          <operator activated="true" class="weka:W-ReliefFAttributeEval" compatibility="5.1.001" expanded="true" height="76" name="W-ReliefFAttributeEval" width="90" x="447" y="75">
            <parameter key="sort_direction" value="descending"/>
          </operator>
          <operator activated="true" class="select_by_weights" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="94" name="Select by Weights" width="90" x="648" y="75">
            <parameter key="weight_relation" value="top k"/>
            <parameter key="weight" value="0.0"/>
            <parameter key="k" value="25"/>
          </operator>
          <operator activated="true" class="x_validation" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="112" name="Validation" width="90" x="782" y="75">
            <process expanded="true" height="649" width="522">
              <operator activated="true" class="naive_bayes" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="76" name="Naive Bayes" width="90" x="216" y="30"/>
              <connect from_port="training" to_op="Naive Bayes" to_port="training set"/>
              <connect from_op="Naive Bayes" from_port="model" to_port="model"/>
              <portSpacing port="source_training" spacing="0"/>
              <portSpacing port="sink_model" spacing="0"/>
              <portSpacing port="sink_through 1" spacing="0"/>
            </process>
            <process expanded="true" height="649" width="522">
              <operator activated="true" class="apply_model" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="76" name="Apply Model" width="90" x="45" y="30">
                <list key="application_parameters"/>
              </operator>
              <operator activated="true" class="performance_binominal_classification" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="76" name="Performance" width="90" x="283" y="30">
                <parameter key="accuracy" value="false"/>
                <parameter key="AUC" value="true"/>
                <parameter key="f_measure" value="true"/>
                <parameter key="false_positive" value="true"/>
                <parameter key="false_negative" value="true"/>
                <parameter key="true_positive" value="true"/>
                <parameter key="true_negative" value="true"/>
              </operator>
              <connect from_port="model" to_op="Apply Model" to_port="model"/>
              <connect from_port="test set" to_op="Apply Model" to_port="unlabelled data"/>
              <connect from_op="Apply Model" from_port="labelled data" to_op="Performance" to_port="labelled data"/>
              <connect from_op="Performance" from_port="performance" to_port="averagable 1"/>
              <portSpacing port="source_model" spacing="0"/>
              <portSpacing port="source_test set" spacing="0"/>
              <portSpacing port="source_through 1" spacing="0"/>
              <portSpacing port="sink_averagable 1" spacing="0"/>
              <portSpacing port="sink_averagable 2" spacing="0"/>
            </process>
          </operator>
          <operator activated="true" class="write_as_text" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="76" name="Write as Text" width="90" x="916" y="75">
            <parameter key="result_file" value="/home/arian/resultttt.res"/>
          </operator>
          <connect from_op="Generate Massive Data" from_port="output" to_op="Nominal to Binominal" to_port="example set input"/>
          <connect from_op="Nominal to Binominal" from_port="example set output" to_op="W-ReliefFAttributeEval" to_port="example set"/>
          <connect from_op="W-ReliefFAttributeEval" from_port="weights" to_op="Select by Weights" to_port="weights"/>
          <connect from_op="W-ReliefFAttributeEval" from_port="example set" to_op="Select by Weights" to_port="example set input"/>
          <connect from_op="Select by Weights" from_port="example set output" to_op="Validation" to_port="training"/>
          <connect from_op="Validation" from_port="averagable 1" to_op="Write as Text" to_port="input 1"/>
          <portSpacing port="source_input 1" spacing="0"/>
          <portSpacing port="sink_result 1" spacing="0"/>
        </process>
      </operator>
    </process>
  • Options
    wesselwessel Member Posts: 537 Maven
    No, there is no repository stuff here, so no problems with relative path, this should run.
    I will try and upload to a remote Ubuntu machine, and see if I can run it.
  • Options
    wesselwessel Member Posts: 537 Maven
    I can run your process.

    I used:

    java -cp //home/wln320/RapidMiner5/lib/rapidminer.jar com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine -f //home/wln320/myrep/csvwrite.rmp


    When you want to use relative paths, you should not use "-f" and also not add ".rmp" at the end of your process file.
  • Options
    wesselwessel Member Posts: 537 Maven
    [wln320@hidden myrep]$ java -cp //home/wln320/RapidMiner5/lib/rapidminer.jar com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine -f //home/wln320/myrep/csvwrite.rmp
    RapidMiner version 5.2.008, Copyright (C) 2001-2012
    RapidMiner comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; This is free software,
    and you are welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions;
    see license information in the file named LICENSE.
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:44 PM com.rapid_i.Launcher ensureRapidMinerHomeSet
    INFO: Property rapidminer.home is not set. Guessing.
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:44 PM com.rapid_i.Launcher ensureRapidMinerHomeSet
    INFO: Trying parent directory of '/home/wln320/RapidMiner5/lib/rapidminer.jar'...gotcha!
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:44 PM com.rapidminer.tools.ParameterService init
    INFO: Reading configuration resource com/rapidminer/resources/rapidminerrc.
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:44 PM com.rapidminer.tools.I18N <clinit>
    INFO: Set locale to en.
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:44 PM com.rapid_i.Launcher ensureRapidMinerHomeSet
    INFO: rapidminer.home is '/home/wln320/RapidMiner5'.
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:45 PM com.rapidminer.parameter.ParameterTypePassword decryptPassword
    WARNING: Password in XML file looks like unencrypted plain text.
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:46 PM com.rapidminer.tools.jdbc.JDBCProperties <init>
    WARNING: Missing database driver class name for ODBC Bridge (e.g. Access)
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:46 PM com.rapidminer.tools.jdbc.JDBCProperties registerDrivers
    INFO: JDBC driver ca.ingres.jdbc.IngresDriver not found. Probably the driver is not installed.
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:46 PM com.rapidminer.tools.jdbc.JDBCProperties registerDrivers
    INFO: JDBC driver oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver not found. Probably the driver is not installed.
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:46 PM com.rapidminer.tools.WrapperLoggingHandler log
    INFO: No filename given for result file, using stdout for logging results!
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:46 PM com.rapidminer.Process run
    INFO: Process /home/wln320/myrep/csvwrite.rmp starts
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:46 PM com.rapidminer.Process run
    INFO: Process /home/wln320/myrep/csvwrite.rmp finished successfully after 0 s
    Nov 18, 2012 4:41:46 PM com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine run
    INFO: Process finished successfully
  • Options
    aryan_hosseinzaaryan_hosseinza Member Posts: 74 Contributor II
    Thanks Wessel for your help,

    Now I can run a very simple design , but for the design that I mentioned (or even a simpler one) it returns me an error :

    user@Server:~/rapidminer/RMRepository$ java -cp //home/arian/rapidminer/lib/rapidminer.jar com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine -f //home/arian/rapidminer/RMRepository/testRemote.rmp
    RapidMiner version 5.2.008, Copyright (C) 2001-2012
    RapidMiner comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; This is free software,
    and you are welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions;
    see license information in the file named LICENSE.
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:32 PM com.rapid_i.Launcher ensureRapidMinerHomeSet
    INFO: Property rapidminer.home is not set. Guessing.
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:32 PM com.rapid_i.Launcher ensureRapidMinerHomeSet
    INFO: Trying parent directory of '/home/arian/rapidminer/lib/rapidminer.jar'...gotcha!
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:32 PM com.rapidminer.tools.ParameterService init
    INFO: Reading configuration resource com/rapidminer/resources/rapidminerrc.
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:32 PM com.rapidminer.tools.I18N <clinit>
    INFO: Set locale to en.
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:32 PM com.rapid_i.Launcher ensureRapidMinerHomeSet
    INFO: rapidminer.home is '/home/arian/rapidminer'.
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:33 PM com.rapidminer.parameter.ParameterTypePassword decryptPassword
    WARNING: Password in XML file looks like unencrypted plain text.
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:33 PM com.rapidminer.tools.jdbc.JDBCProperties <init>
    WARNING: Missing database driver class name for ODBC Bridge (e.g. Access)
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:33 PM com.rapidminer.tools.jdbc.JDBCProperties registerDrivers
    INFO: JDBC driver ca.ingres.jdbc.IngresDriver not found. Probably the driver is not installed.
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:33 PM com.rapidminer.tools.jdbc.JDBCProperties registerDrivers
    INFO: JDBC driver oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver not found. Probably the driver is not installed.
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:34 PM com.rapidminer.io.process.XMLImporter addMessage
    INFO: <em class="error">The operator class 'weka:W-ReliefFAttributeEval' is unknown. Possibly you must install a plugin for operators of group 'weka'.</em>
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:34 PM com.rapidminer.io.process.XMLImporter addMessage
    INFO: <em class="error">The input port <var>example set</var> is unknown at operator <var>W-ReliefFAttributeEval (3)</var>.</em>
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:34 PM com.rapidminer.io.process.XMLImporter addMessage
    INFO: <em class="error">The output port <var>weights</var> is unknown at operator <var>W-ReliefFAttributeEval (3)</var>.</em>
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:34 PM com.rapidminer.tools.WrapperLoggingHandler log
    INFO: No filename given for result file, using stdout for logging results!
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:34 PM com.rapidminer.Process run
    INFO: Process /home/arian/rapidminer/RMRepository/testRemote.rmp starts
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:34 PM com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine run
    SEVERE: Process failed: The dummy operator W-ReliefFAttributeEval (3) (replacing weka:W-ReliefFAttributeEval) cannot be executed.
    com.rapidminer.operator.UserError: The dummy operator W-ReliefFAttributeEval (3) (replacing weka:W-ReliefFAttributeEval) cannot be executed.
    at com.rapidminer.operator.DummyOperator.doWork(DummyOperator.java:88)
    at com.rapidminer.operator.Operator.execute(Operator.java:834)
    at com.rapidminer.operator.execution.SimpleUnitExecutor.execute(SimpleUnitExecutor.java:51)
    at com.rapidminer.operator.ExecutionUnit.execute(ExecutionUnit.java:711)
    at com.rapidminer.operator.OperatorChain.doWork(OperatorChain.java:379)
    at com.rapidminer.operator.Operator.execute(Operator.java:834)
    at com.rapidminer.Process.run(Process.java:925)
    at com.rapidminer.Process.run(Process.java:848)
    at com.rapidminer.Process.run(Process.java:807)
    at com.rapidminer.Process.run(Process.java:802)
    at com.rapidminer.Process.run(Process.java:792)
    at com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine.run(RapidMinerCommandLine.java:145)
    at com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine.main(RapidMinerCommandLine.java:182)
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:34 PM com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine run
    SEVERE: Here:          Process[1] (Process)
              subprocess 'Main Process'
                +- Generate Massive Data[1] (Generate Massive Data)
                +- Nominal to Binominal[1] (Nominal to Binominal)
          ==>  +- W-ReliefFAttributeEval (3)[1] (dummy)
    Nov 18, 2012 5:06:34 PM com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine run
    SEVERE: Process not successful


    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
    <process version="5.2.008">
      <context>
        <input/>
        <output/>
        <macros/>
      </context>
      <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" name="Process">
        <process expanded="true" height="631" width="949">
          <operator activated="true" class="generate_massive_data" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="60" name="Generate Massive Data" width="90" x="45" y="75">
            <parameter key="number_examples" value="1000"/>
            <parameter key="number_attributes" value="100"/>
            <parameter key="sparse_fraction" value="0.95"/>
          </operator>
          <operator activated="true" class="nominal_to_binominal" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="94" name="Nominal to Binominal" width="90" x="179" y="75">
            <parameter key="attribute_filter_type" value="single"/>
            <parameter key="attribute" value="label"/>
            <parameter key="include_special_attributes" value="true"/>
          </operator>
          <operator activated="true" class="weka:W-ReliefFAttributeEval" compatibility="5.1.001" expanded="true" height="76" name="W-ReliefFAttributeEval (3)" width="90" x="313" y="75">
            <parameter key="sort_direction" value="descending"/>
            <parameter key="K" value="21.0"/>
          </operator>
          <connect from_op="Generate Massive Data" from_port="output" to_op="Nominal to Binominal" to_port="example set input"/>
          <connect from_op="Nominal to Binominal" from_port="example set output" to_op="W-ReliefFAttributeEval (3)" to_port="example set"/>
          <connect from_op="W-ReliefFAttributeEval (3)" from_port="weights" to_port="result 1"/>
          <portSpacing port="source_input 1" spacing="0"/>
          <portSpacing port="sink_result 1" spacing="0"/>
          <portSpacing port="sink_result 2" spacing="0"/>
        </process>
      </operator>
    </process>
    It seems that the W-ReliefFAttributeEval doesn't work on the remote machine but it works on my own local machine, what could be the reason  ?


    Thanks ,

    Arian
  • Options
    aryan_hosseinzaaryan_hosseinza Member Posts: 74 Contributor II
    And when I want to store a result in the repository  it gives me the following error :
    ...
    ...
    SEVERE: Process failed: Cannot store data in repository at entry '//RMRepository/testRemoteStorage'. Reason: Requested repository RMRepository does not exist..
    com.rapidminer.operator.UserError: Cannot store data in repository at entry '//RMRepository/testRemoteStorage'. Reason: Requested repository RMRepository does not exist..
    ...
    ...

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
    <process version="5.2.008">
      <context>
        <input/>
        <output/>
        <macros/>
      </context>
      <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" name="Process">
        <process expanded="true" height="631" width="949">
          <operator activated="true" class="generate_massive_data" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="60" name="Generate Massive Data" width="90" x="45" y="75">
            <parameter key="number_examples" value="1000"/>
            <parameter key="number_attributes" value="100"/>
            <parameter key="sparse_fraction" value="0.95"/>
          </operator>
          <operator activated="true" class="nominal_to_binominal" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="94" name="Nominal to Binominal" width="90" x="179" y="75">
            <parameter key="attribute_filter_type" value="single"/>
            <parameter key="attribute" value="label"/>
            <parameter key="include_special_attributes" value="true"/>
          </operator>
          <operator activated="true" class="store" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="60" name="Store" width="90" x="380" y="75">
            <parameter key="repository_entry" value="//RMRepository/testRemoteStorage"/>
          </operator>
          <connect from_op="Generate Massive Data" from_port="output" to_op="Nominal to Binominal" to_port="example set input"/>
          <connect from_op="Nominal to Binominal" from_port="example set output" to_op="Store" to_port="input"/>
          <portSpacing port="source_input 1" spacing="0"/>
          <portSpacing port="sink_result 1" spacing="0"/>
        </process>
      </operator>
    </process>
  • Options
    wesselwessel Member Posts: 537 Maven
    @ Weka plugin
    Do you have all the correct files uploaded?
    W-.* is Weka stuff, so you need to have the Weka plugin installed.

    @ Repository
    For repository stuff you might have to change the repositories.xml in the .RapidMiner5 folder.
    But I don't fully understand why it sometimes does and does not work.
    You need to ask someone one the RapidMiner team.

    Best regards,

    Wessel
  • Options
    aryan_hosseinzaaryan_hosseinza Member Posts: 74 Contributor II
    Hi Wessel,

    1.What do you mean that I need to install Weka plugin ? I don't have it installed on my local machine , but it works fine , I guess that these are the libraries which were implemented in Weka and now RapidMiner is using them, isn't it the case ?

    2.Do you know how I can change the xml file ? (Neither I find the RapidMiner5 folder)


    Thanks ,
    Arian
  • Options
    wesselwessel Member Posts: 537 Maven
    1. Really, you do have it installed on your local machine.
    http://img1.uploadscreenshot.com/images/orig/11/32218380794-orig.jpg
    image


    2. Check out this post:
    http://rapid-i.com/rapidforum/index.php/topic,2385.0.html

    The repositories.xml is in your home folder.
    You can manually edit it or copy it from your local machine.
    Should contain entries like this:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
    <repositories>
      <localRepository>
        <file>/full/path/to/your/repository/Repository</file>
        <alias>Repository Name</alias>
      </localRepository>
    </repositories>
  • Options
    aryan_hosseinzaaryan_hosseinza Member Posts: 74 Contributor II
    Great , now it works , I had to copy .RapidMiner5 and set the repositories.xml file ,

    but I've got a problem with the performance , do you know how can I make rapidminer (or maybe java) to use more of available cpu ?


    Thanks ,
    Arian
Sign In or Register to comment.