Options

[Solved] Use the same attribute for creating a label and the prediction?

qwertzqwertz Member Posts: 130 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Good evening,

This is hopefully a question that can easily be answered by the experienced experts - and probably a stupid one - but I am rather new in this topic and found pros and cons as well:

Let's assume that there are 5 different attributes representing stock prices. The "windowing" operator creates a label from att1. Afterwords a learner shall build a model from that (not shown in the attached sample process). Depending on whether the role of att1 is either "regular" or "label" it will appear in the data set provided to the learner or not.

I was wondering whether it is usefull to keep att1 for the learner to predict att1(t+1). On the one hand I can imagine that att1 can contribute to the model. On the other hand I see the risk that att1 gets too much weight in the model as it's correlation to the label (which is based on att1) is quite strong of course.

The attached code is a sample process to this question. By changing "target role" parameter in the "set role" operator you can either include or exclude att1.

Please let me know what your experience is...

Best regards
Sachs
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<process version="5.2.008">
 <context>
   <input/>
   <output/>
   <macros/>
 </context>
 <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" name="Process">
   <process expanded="true" height="383" width="681">
     <operator activated="true" class="generate_data" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="60" name="Generate Data" width="90" x="45" y="30">
       <parameter key="number_examples" value="20"/>
       <parameter key="attributes_lower_bound" value="0.0"/>
     </operator>