raiyaniraiyani Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
Hello,

I am new to RapidMiner and am facing the following issue

Platform: Java (Slackware Linux)
Version: 5.3.000
Memory: 12 GB
Processor cores: 8

I was using RapidMiner without a hitch. Now, when I try to launch it with an existing process, I am only offered a blank sheet (new process). Also, if I drag any operator to the canvas, the operator is greyed out and the Help information box shows an hourglass.

I am using RapidMiner for text mining, and I have been encountering this issue since I started using the following process:
  • Read an Excel file with ~3,000 rows
  • Process the text in the Excel file  (tokenization, change case, stemming, etc.)
  • Clustering using k-NN
Thanks,
Samir

Answers

• Options
    Marco_BoeckMarco_Boeck Administrator, Moderator, Employee, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,993 RM Engineering
    Hi,

please update to RapidMiner version 5.3.005. Unfortunately, a bug slipped into the 5.3.000 release which can cause the symptons you describe.

Regards,
    Marco
  • Options
    Thank you, Marco. I updated RapidMiner to version 5.3.005 as you've suggested.

Here is what happens now:
    • When I launch, RapidMiner, I can select from the list of recent processes
    • If I select an existing process, it takes 2-3 minutes to load the process; after that, it works fine
    • If I start a new process, I can add new operators (nothing is greyed out); but when I run the process, it takes 2-3 minutes for the results to show; after that, it works fine/li]
    Thanks for your help.
  • Options
    Nils_WoehlerNils_Woehler Member Posts: 463 Maven
    Hi there,

this is probably a problem of an extension you have installed.
    Please go to your .RapidMiner5 folder located in your system user folder (e.g. /home/user/.RapidMiner5) and remove all files that start with vlperspective.