Options

[SOLVED] Unwanted column after Transpose and Rename by Example operators

ryijynshuiryijynshui Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi everyone,

Firstly thank you to the developers for this great product. I am very new to Rapid Miner and my back ground is more on hardware and database side.

My issue is more of an irritation than a problem. I am using a MySQL database which, has two tables. Both have two columns that monitors a web application. The tables are similar to information_schema.global_status and information_schema.global_variables. I will refer to the global_status table here.

I use the transpose operator on table to transpose VARIABLE_NAME data into column names and VARIABLE_VALUE data as data. The output, goes into a csv file, after the transpose operator:

row 1: attri_1,attri_2, etc
row 2: "aborted_clients","aborted_connects",...,"VARIABLE_NAME"
row 3: "0","0",...,"VARIABLE_VALUE"

Now I use the Rename by Example operator to remove row 1. However, notice that, VARIABLE_NAME is added creating an unwanted extra column in the output with VARIABLE_VALUE as the data. Is there anyway of stopping or removing the use of both these columns within the two processes? Is there another process I have to use before pushing the output to a csv file? I am currently dumping the output to a csv file but the idea is to write the result to a database.

Thanks for your help.
Ryi-Jyn

Answers

• Options
    I think I figured it out but surely there must be an elegant way of doing this? How about adding a tickbox on the Transpose operator to allow the user to ignore the colum, similar to "first row is header" when importing into a spreadsheet?

Anyway the way I got around it was to...

1. Add the Select Attribute operator
    2. In the Parameters window
      a. Change attribute filter type to single
      b. Set the attribute field to VARIABLE_NAME (see 1st post)
      c. tick both invert selection and include special attributes