Options

"Time Series Questions"

blurngrblurngr Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
edited May 2019 in Help
I've gone through the tutorials and the documentation, as well as the videos I found at Neural Markets.  Overall, it continues to be a very cool product.  I'm new to data mining, so please be gentle :-)

I have some time series data (sales data).  I've already (using Excel) ETL'd some of this data so that I have these columns:

dayOfYear (the id), month, dayOfMonth, monthOfYear, dayOfWeek, weekOfYear, year, salesOfDay

I've split it up this way, so that I can see, for example, if sales occur on Mondays more often, or perhaps on the 10th day of the month, etc...  Is this necessary, or does one of the operators already do this?

I've normalized / scaled the values so that they are all between 0 ... 1, simply by dividing each column by the largest value in the column.  [This step seems to be required by libSVM from the command line, is it required in Rapid Miner, or is there an operator to do this as well (which would be really handy!!!)?]

However, I'm having a hard time using any of the learners ..... as they seem to almost all require labels.  I understand which one is the id field.  However, the eventual goal is to try and predict say, the next 30 salesOfDay periods.  Are those columns labels, or attributes?

I'm sure I'll have more questions as we get through this ....

--
Anthony
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    TobiasMalbrechtTobiasMalbrecht Moderator, Employee, Member Posts: 295 RM Product Management
    Hi Anthony,

thanks for your kind words. Unfortunately, time series predictions are not the easiest processes to set up and hence not the best way to start with RapidMiner. But I will try to sketch a few points you will have to consider: