Options

Generalized Sequential Pattern (GSP)

Tasos_IoannouTasos_Ioannou Member Posts: 1 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
Dear Sir/Madame

My name is Tasos Ioannou and I am a Phd student from TU Delft, the Netherlands.

I am new to rapid miner and I am trying to play with GSP in order to find patterns of occupancy (daily presence or not) in residential houses.

My data are like this:

Timestamp      Type of Room--    House 1 --  House 2 -- House 3 -- etc.
3/6/2015 00:00      Kitchen                 0                   1                1
3/6/2015 00:05      Kitchen                 1                   0                1
3/6/2015 00:10      Kitchen                 0                   1                1
3/6/2015 00:20      Kitchen                 0                   0                0

So first column is the time stamp (every five minutes for a period of several months), second column is the type of room and the rest of the columns are the readings of the presence sensors in 0,1 format (1 when a person's presence was detected within the five minutes interval and 0 when no presence was detected).

I am trying to use the GSP to find patterns of occupancy for a whole day between all the houses (32 dwellings in total). Following the description of the process operator and looking at the tutorial example I have made a file but seems that  I am missing something since instead of results I am getting a view of the example set (!) which I have already seen before using the ''break point after'' option.  

The customer id is the type of rooms (Kitchen, Living Room etc), the houses (House 1, House 2 etc) are the attributes.

My questions are as follows:

1) For the time attribute I am transforming the date to numerical as necessary, that would result in a time column from 1-288. Does that make sense? In the tutorial example the time is a column with only one value (1).