Options

Dependency Analysis Exercise for Newbie

66SS39666SS396 Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
I am just getting started with Data Mining and Rapid Miner. I have been through the tutorials, done some web reading, played with the tool and am ready for an exercise.

So I found a web article where a guy did a dependency analysis on some specific stocks.  He picked about 7 stocks he felt should have some dependency on each other.  For this experiment he was only going to use Open Price to determine if the opening price of a given stock had dependy on one or more of the other stocks opening price. He suggested that he used M5P with Regression Tree and the 10-fold cross validation.  This seemed like and exercise that would be of interest to me and he provided his results and the time period he used for the data. 

The problem is I dont know how his input data was structured such as:

Stock Name, Date, Open Price

or

Date, stock A open price, stock B open price, stock c open price etc.

In both cases I get the following error:

Error in: W-M5P (W-M5P) W-M5P caused an error: weka.classifiers.functions.LinearRegression: Cannot handle multi-valued nominal class! An external program or library has reported an error. Please see the documentation of this program or library for further information.

So this looks like I clearly didnt understand the format of his input data.

So I then decided to play with a decision tree of this data and with the second data format It shows me a nice decision tree of some of the stocks and represents the data I input.

Any help on understanding what I am doing wrong with the M5P exercise would be great or other suggestions for how to accomplish the same exercise would also be appreciated.

thanks in advance for you help.

Answers

• Options
    landland RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 2,531 Unicorn
    Hi,