Options

Running Sum & Running Sumif

ZabSpecZabSpec Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
Hello Everyone

This is my first post and I am very new to Rapidminer.  I'm sorry if I don't describe this well but I will do my best.  I won't go into great detail about what I am trying to achieve straight off, but I will ask if something is possible:

I've loaded a dataset into Rapidminer and set up a process - the data is a list of customers, the store they belong to and the postal area they reside in.  I have aggregated the data into groups of stores and postal areas with a count of customers.

I would now like to add another column/field that is a running sum down (based on the count of customers) the table, or better still a running sumif (based on store).  I've searched but can't find any process that will give me this result.

Is this possible?  Any help for a new user is much appreciated.

Answers

• Options
    JEdwardJEdward RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 578 Unicorn
    I'm just busy with some other things right now so can't answer in detail, but what it sounds like you want is cumulative sum.  You can find this operator by downloading the finance & economics extension. 
  • Options
    Hi, thanks for your response.  I've found a few other threads that reference this, and you are correct; I need an extension.  The extension needed is called the 'Series' extension and the operator is called 'integrate'.

So great, I now have a running sum.  The next step for me is to generate this running sum like a sum if, so I have around 8 stores in this list and I want to carry out the running sum for each.  When the calculation gets to a new store in the list I want it to start the running sum again.

Any help from anyone with this is much appreciated.  I will continue to also try and work it out for myself too!
  • Options