Options

Datamining for continuous process in manufacturing

LAFAURIEALAFAURIEA Member Posts: 6 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hello,
I'm a very beginner in Rapidminer and machine learning tools. I was wondering what is the best tools to apply for chemical industry continuous process. I mean we run big equiment on a 24hours basis to make different kind of products. We would like to improve the yield of one type of product that we produce may be 5 times a year. A campaign is usually 2 to 3 weeks depending on how difficult we achieve the right specs.
Some of process data are on a 1 hours basis, some are twice a day, some are every 2 hours. I've got may be 10-15 Xi and the quality of the product can be discibed by 4-5 Yi. some process data are numerical and some are attributes.
I'd like to see if there are some relationship between campaign when we get good/bad products. we've got a very low yield and from campaign to another, parameters are not the same.
really wondering where to start!? on this kind of process datas.
thanks

Answers

• Options
    MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,512 RM Data Scientist
    Hi,

this is indeed a very intersting project. There are several things you can do. Funnily RapidMiner Germany has a similar research project in germany: http://fee-projekt.de/Publikationen.html (site is sadly in german).

There is a general idea of having a set of settings and a set of materials and a desired quality. You can learn a model which predicts the quality for a given parameter and material set. If you have this model, you can easily simulate what would happen if a change a parameter etc.

what you would need to built is a data set like this:
    parameter1 parameter2 parameter3 material1 material2 QualityIn5Mins

The quality can be in 5 mins or per campaign. Afterwards this turn out to be a supervised regression task.

Best,