Options

Split a single xml file into several docs or example set

mohammadrezamohammadreza Member Posts: 23 Contributor II
edited February 2020 in Help
Hi. I am new to RapidMiner text plugin.

I have an XML file consisting of <document> elements. Each document tag contains one document as follows:
<documents>
    <document>
        <id> 1 </id>
        <text>...............</text>
    </document>
    <document>
        <id> 1 </id>
    </document>
</documents>
I think I have to split them first and extract documents to be able to construct the word vector. Is there any way to do that?

Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,516 RM Data Scientist
    Is there any reason not to use read xml and convert the example set to a document afterwards?
    - Sr. Director Data Solutions, Altair RapidMiner -
    Dortmund, Germany
  • Options
    Thanks Martin,

I think read XML operator is the wise option, but I need to do some text classification after that. That's why I wanted to work with documents through text plugin. Assuming that according to your explanation I use Read XML, is this any way to work with text plugin? I mean how should I connect the output of read XML to some operator like "Process Document" or any other operator to allow me do the tokenization, stemming and make word vector?

Thanks
  • Options
    frasfras Member Posts: 93 Contributor II
    Hi, try this as a starting point:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
    <process version="6.2.000">
      <context>
        <input/>
        <output/>
        <macros/>
      </context>
      <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="6.2.000" expanded="true" name="Process">
        <process expanded="true">