Options

Tricky paths (Windows)

seanpuriseanpuri Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi all,

I'm just starting out on RapidMiner but am having a great time learning.  ;D I wanted to get your input on a tricky problem.  I'll be sharing a process with a number of people (more than 10) so I wanted to send a full repository that includes both process, data files, and a few plain text lists of word exclusions.  It's important that relative paths are used as the paths will be different for each user's computer if they store in the typical location (anything under a Windows username directory, e.g. C:\Users\[USER]\blahblah).

For the life of me, I can't figure out how to input a relative path into the Read XLS and Open File operators.  I have reviewed documentation both here: http://docs.rapidminer.com/studio/operators/repository_access/retrieve.html and https://rapid-i.com/rapidforum/index.php?topic=2350.0

Specifically, if I try to use "Special_words_cleaning.txt" as the filename parameter the error indicates that the path resolves to "C:\Users\02PUR\Special_words_cleaning.txt" even though my repository is located at "C:\Users\02PUR\.RapidMiner5\repositories\Hackathon".

The behavior doesn't seem to match what was described in the previously linked forum response.  Has anyone good advice here?  ???

Thanks!

Answers

• Options
    MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,509 RM Data Scientist
    Hi,

you are referring to a really old post. Sebastian posted something regarding RM 4. I would not really trust in that anymore. A lot changed.

The documentation is for the Retrieve operator. The retrieve operator is used for the repository, not for your hard disc.