"Web Crawling guide - help much needed"

milkshake_luvamilkshake_luva Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited June 2019 in Help

Hi there,

I am new to Rapid Miner though have a deadline coming up soon and just wanted some help with webcrawling.

I'm doing a crowdsourcing assignment where I need to 'crawl' a website to find detailed information, which I can then subject this data to further processing.  However, I am having trouble running my initial analysis.  I've downloaded both web and text mining extensions, have put in the URL to crawl, tried to add parameters where results returned match with my URL and links containing the name of the site itself.  I've followed some tutorials and specified Rapidminer to save results to a directory, in .txt format.  

I'm not sure how 'max crawl depth' translates to actually 'going through' links and pages in my given URL. I want to search through user suggestions in a crowdsourcing project, but there is no way to specify a time window of these results. I set the max dept to 400. I've selected 'add content as attribute', and to write pages to disk. I have also put in my user agent prior to running the analysis.

In one instance, I did manage to find 60 or so text files to my directory which pertained to the analysis. Whilst some of these were links I wanted, a lot weren't, and the date was too recent anyway. I wasn't sure how to further systematise my search criteria.