The Altair Community is migrating to a new platform to provide a better experience for you. The RapidMiner Community will merge with the Altair Community at the same time. In preparation for the migration, both communities are on read-only mode from July 15th - July 24th, 2024. Technical support via cases will continue to work as is. For any urgent requests from Students/Faculty members, please submit the form linked here.
Options

Teradata connection pending

CarlosBCarlosB Member Posts: 10 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help

I went into the "manage dabase drivers" opion in RapidMiner Studio and I created an entry for Teradata.  I then went into "manage database connections" and I created an entry to connect to a Teradata database.  I tested by pressing the "Test" button and it told me "Connection OK".  I then went into the repository tab and I tried to expand my teradata connection, but all I get is a "Pending..." under the connection tree item.  Any ideas on how to troubleshoot this?  My connection string looks like this:  jdbc:teradata://MY_SERVER/LOGMECH=LDAP.    See attachment for what I mean by "Pending".

Tagged:

Best Answer

  • Options
    JeffChowaniecJeffChowaniec Employee, Member Posts: 14 RM Data Scientist
    Solution Accepted

    The issue is with the TerraData driver. The way we treat TerraData causes problems with the database repository view. On the other hand, all of the database operators still work and the connection is fine. I.E. you can use the read database operator and pull in the data from the TerraData database connection even though the repository view gives you an error.

Answers

  • Options
    Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn

    It might trying to fetch the metadata of all the tables. It could take a bit.

  • Options
    MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,525 RM Data Scientist

    I would recommend to turn off the meta data fetching in the preferences.

    - Sr. Director Data Solutions, Altair RapidMiner -
    Dortmund, Germany
  • Options
    CarlosBCarlosB Member Posts: 10 Contributor I

    I just turned off "Evaluate SQL meta data" in "settings / preferences / user interface / miscellaneous":  see attachment.    Still have the same problem.  

  • Options
    CarlosBCarlosB Member Posts: 10 Contributor I

    OK, now I get a message in the log.  It states:

    Mar 3, 2017 11:37:08 AM SEVERE: could not create repository action: class com.rapidminer.repository.gui.actions.StoreProcessAction

    I'm not sure if this is in response to my attempt to connect to Teradata.

  • Options
    Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn

    Were you trying to write something the Teradata database?

  • Options
    CarlosBCarlosB Member Posts: 10 Contributor I

    I was just trying to select.  No writes.

  • Options
    Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn

    @Marco_Boeck do you have any experience with Teradata? I'm not sure what's going on with his connection here.

  • Options
    CarlosBCarlosB Member Posts: 10 Contributor I

    I just tried connecting to my Oracle database and I have the same exact problem.   Are there any logs I can look at?

     

  • Options
    CarlosBCarlosB Member Posts: 10 Contributor I

    OK, after waiting a long time, the oracle connection worked, but it gave me several messages such as:
    Mar 7, 2017 10:57:01 AM WARNING: Failed to fetch column meta data for table <SCHEMA.TABLE_NAME goes here>: java.sql.SQLException: ORA-01427: single-row subquery returns more than one row
    Someone earlier in this thread suggested that I turn off meta data fetching.  Can someone tell me where exactly that is done?  I attached an image where I think it should be done.

  • Options
    CarlosBCarlosB Member Posts: 10 Contributor I

    Going to sum up my findings here:

    1.  It looks like the database connection folder in the repository tab works fine for small databases.   The bigger the database, the longer it takes.  All my databases of interest are huge, so I cannot use this RapidMiner feature.

    2. I just created a new process and I dropped the "Read Database" widget on the form and I used it to connect to both my Oracle and Teradata databases.   It worked and it brought back data.  Good enough for me.

    Thanks everybody for your help.

     

Sign In or Register to comment.