Options

autotagging and autocategorizing text pieces

mayageudensmayageudens Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

Hello Rapid Minder community!

First of all thank you for taking the time to read my question. Seocndly i apologize for my ignorance. I am totally new to data mining and i have looked around the community but did not find any other post answering my question. Perhaps this is because of my lack of knowledge. Okay so this is my problem:

I have around 5000 text pieces. I have categorized and tagged them. I want to build a rulebook that can autotag and autocategorize new text pieces. I have about 600 tags and about 20 categories. Every snippet can have different tags but only one category. Specifically i want:

-to analyze the text so i can automatically give this snippet the correct tags (up to 4) from a list i have made myself. 
- to analyze the text (or analyse the tags whatever is easier) and find rules for putting them in a category automatically

I have no idea how to even begin this process and i would be forever grateful if someone would be willing to guide me through this process!

Answers

• Options
    kypexinkypexin Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Member Posts: 291 Unicorn

Hi @mayageudens

I could advise you on the second part, text categorizing (I have done this before as a big project for categorizing web sites based on their content and detecting restricted categories like adult, druge, weapons etc), though I am not ready at this moment to advise on tagging the texts, as it seems to be pretty different task I haven't ever aproached. 

1. Start with installing "Text processing" RapidMiner extension from the marketplace as this is gonna be the main tool for you. 

2. Study operators "PROCESS DOCUMENTS FROM FILES" or "PROCESS DOCUMENTS FROM DATA", depending on the way your text data is stored. I have actually used the first one as I had all the data stored in text files which were then read by this operator.