Options

Univariate Forecasting

wendywendy Member Posts: 7 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hello all,

I'm new to RapidMiner and having a problem with arranging my operators to carry out a univariate time series forecasting. I need some help.

Here, I have a dataset consists of one attribute, i.e. the amount of beer production each month. There are approximately 476 rows in the dataset and each row represents the  beer production at 1 month. So I divided this dataset manually to 70% and 30% for training and testing respectively. After that, I prepared the operators in RapidMiner as follows:
  • Applying Series2WindowExamples operator in order to apply windowing.
  • Let an algorithm (such as NeuralNet, LibSVMLearner, etc) to produce model based on the training data. This is achieved in a cross-validation scheme.
  • Thinking that I should get a correct model from the above steps, I load my testing dataset (which is 30% in portion). Then I called the stored model to be applied on that testing data.
My xml code looks more or less like this:

<operator name="Root" class="Process" expanded="yes">
    <operator name="ExcelExampleSource" class="ExcelExampleSource">
        <parameter key="excel_file" value="C:\Documents and Settings\Wendy\Desktop\newelec.xls"/>
        <parameter key="sheet_number" value="2"/>
    </operator>
    <operator name="Series2WindowExamples" class="Series2WindowExamples">
        <parameter key="series_representation" value="encode_series_by_examples"/>
        <parameter key="window_size" value="10"/>
    </operator>
    <operator name="XValidation" class="XValidation" expanded="yes">
        <parameter key="number_of_validations" value="2"/>
        <operator name="OperatorChain" class="OperatorChain" expanded="yes">
            <operator name="NeuralNet" class="NeuralNet">
                <list key="hidden_layer_types">
                </list>
                <parameter key="training_cycles" value="1000"/>