Future product sales prediction

BanBan Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited March 2019 in Help
Hello,

I am new to RapidMiner and data science in general. I study Business Administration and have decided to write my bachelor thesis on predictive analytics. For this purpose, I would like to develop a model from the sales data of a retail company in RapidMiner, with which I can predict stock levels for future smartphone models. 

I really wanted to post some screenshots but it is not possible for me, as I am to new in this community. There is a PDF attached where the story is in context of some screenshots.

I have already been able to acquire some very helpful information in this forum and in the learning environment of rapidminer. But now I am at a point where I am stuck, because I also lack some basic knowledge. 

I have received sales data from certain product categories of the last three years from a retailer. The data includes lines for each sale and some information about the product sold. I then edited the data in excel and divided some technical  specifications as individual attributes. I have subdivided the specification "capacity" into "low", "medium" and high rather than the existing gigabytes (32GB, 64GB, ...) in order to eliminate discrepancies resulting from technical progress. As a further attribute, I have added the age of the product at the date of sale. The aim of me was to classify the individual attributes of a product as generally as possible. For legal reasons, I am unable to upload the entire datasets. 

My idea was then to create a sum of the sales per week for the respective products, since the sales figures of one week are very close to the basic stock level. Furthermore, I removed attributes, which in my opinion are no longer relevant for the further processing. 

In the predicting process, I would like to train a model with the prepared data and apply it to example Data of a new product.