Predict Sports Outcome

PyNoobPyNoob Member Posts: 15 Contributor I
I am a total newbie in Rapidminer. I was trying in python but the coding bit is a bit intense. I want to predict the outcome "Classification" for the team/s that i can specify. "Home Team" & "Away Team". e.g. Liverpool playing against Burnley, Big win goal scored and FC Shalke playing against Borrussia Dortmund, Draw goal sored.  So far I have got distinct responses in the Simulator tab. I would like to use/test those responses. I would ultimitately like to run machine learning to predict these outputs. How can I cluster my data? Where do I start? Please help.. I am really excited about this!
Attachment: MyDream. (for some reason I am unable to remove attachment)

Comments

• MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,497 RM Data Scientist
    Hi There,

there is one very important thought you may need to have before: Even when you are able to do this, you need to know what to do with it. Just because you know who will likely win, you do not what to bet on.
    Let me give you an example:
    Munich won the last german championships and is likely the strongest team. Naturally your algorithm will predict a high likelyhood in a game of Munich vs Schalke last season or so. STILL you may want to bet on Frankfurt, if the odds are better than the chances to win.

You quickly run into interesting optimization problems.

Cheers,
    Martin
    - Sr. Director Data Solutions, Altair RapidMiner -
    Dortmund, Germany
  • PyNoobPyNoob Member Posts: 15 Contributor I
    @mschmitz Absolutely Yes!
    Whats the point of having data and the ability to manipulate it if you cannot have fun right?
    Well its all fun and games until you start doing the bit. (Here, I mean, building the correct model, getting the correct dependencies and the dataset and then getting the results, testing it).