Options

Interpreting SOMDimensionalityReduction results

lexusboylexusboy Member Posts: 22 Maven
Hello,

I am new to machine learning and its methods, so excuse me if my question sounds stupid. So, I have some data(750 rows in an Excel sheet) on which i first do some pre processing (stopword filtering, stemming etc), after i get the output from these operators i want to do SOM clustering so I can see the results and make a feature vector of the most important concepts in my document. However all i see in the result from the SOM operator is just different colored "dots" spread across the map, and i have no idea what they mean, if anyone can help me in this regard, I would be very grateful.

Here is the code from my experiment:

<operator name="Root" class="Process" expanded="yes">
   <operator name="ExcelExampleSource" class="ExcelExampleSource">
       <parameter key="excel_file" value="C:\Documents and Settings\Lexusboy\My Documents\TCV\Postings_short.xls"/>
       <parameter key="first_row_as_names" value="true"/>
       <parameter key="id_column" value="4"/>
   </operator>
   <operator name="StringTextInput" class="StringTextInput" expanded="yes">
       <parameter key="filter_nominal_attributes" value="true"/>
       <parameter key="remove_original_attributes" value="true"/>
       <parameter key="default_content_language" value="english"/>
       <parameter key="vector_creation" value="BinaryOccurrences"/>
       <parameter key="return_word_list" value="true"/>
       <parameter key="output_word_list" value="C:\Documents and Settings\Lexusboy\My Documents\RapidMiner\pre processing\word_list"/>
       <parameter key="id_attribute_type" value="short"/>
       <list key="namespaces">
       </list>
       <parameter key="create_text_visualizer" value="true"/>
       <operator name="StringTokenizer" class="StringTokenizer">
       </operator>
       <operator name="GermanStopwordFilter" class="GermanStopwordFilter">
       </operator>