Options

Is what I'd like to do even possible with RapidMiner?

Hal_SegalHal_Segal Member Posts: 2 Newbie
I'm new to machine learning, and I wonder if what I'd like to do is even possible with RapidMinder. I'd welcome suggestions!
1. My data set will be about 30 years of monthly economic data for Canada and will contain about 30 variables for each time period -- things like gross national product, size of the workforce, the money supply, the interest rate, etc.
2. It would be an unsupervised task since we want the algorithm to determine the relationship between the variables.
3. I understand that RNN with LSTM is the state-of-the-art for this type of problem.
4. After the model is up and running, I'd like to test different values of certain independent variables for future time periods. For example, if the government sets the interest rate at x% and sets public spending at $y for the coming 12 months, we want the model to predict all the other variables.
5.  How would I proceed to set up this type of task? Are there any particular techniques I should know about to accomplish this?
Thanks for your suggestions!

Answers

• Options
    rfuentealbarfuentealba Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Member, University Professor Posts: 568 Unicorn
    Hello @Hal_Segal

Indeed this is possible to do, however 30 years of economic data might seem to be a lot.

To specify techniques and all that stuff, I would need to see part of the data (I don't care about the data itself but about the shape: what's your predictive label, what kind of categorical, numerical or date data you have, etc...). Is it feasible?

All the best,

Rod.
  • Options
    Hal_SegalHal_Segal Member Posts: 2 Newbie
    Rod,
    Thanks for your reply! Let me describe the data set for Canada, and if you'd like to see the actual data, please send me your email address.