Options

Installation Error

shdawsonshdawson Member Posts: 2 Newbie
Greetings to all!

I am new to RapidMiner. I am getting up and running with the application. I have an installation error. I am writing to ask for interpretation assistance of the error message.

stephen@LENOVO-SSD ~ $ java -version
openjdk version "11.0.11" 2021-04-20
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (build 11.0.11+9-Ubuntu-0ubuntu2.20.04)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 11.0.11+9-Ubuntu-0ubuntu2.20.04, mixed mode)
stephen@LENOVO-SSD ~ $

I am running the java installed from my Synaptic Package Manager for Linux Mint 20.

stephen@LENOVO-SSD ~ $ cat /etc/linuxmint/info
RELEASE=20.2
CODENAME=uma
EDITION="Cinnamon"
DESCRIPTION="Linux Mint 20.2 Uma"
DESKTOP=Gnome
TOOLKIT=GTK

stephen@LENOVO-SSD ~ $ uname -a
Linux LENOVO-SSD 5.11.0-25-generic #27~20.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jul 13 17:41:23 UTC 2021 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
stephen@LENOVO-SSD ~ $

Running the instructions from the URL (that I cannot post to this message because I am a newbie per the site restriction)

"The RapidMiner Studio installation package for Linux does not include a Java Runtime Environment. Before installing RapidMiner Studio, use the package manager of your distribution to install a version 8 JRE (unless it is already present with your operating system) and verify that the JAVA_HOME variable points to it or java (contained in the bin folder of your Java installation) is on the PATH."

I ignored this step, hoping the installer will help me accomplish it.

So, I ran the installer...but it does not seem to want to help me with this step.

stephen@LENOVO-SSD ~/Desktop/rapidminer-studio $ ./RapidMiner-Studio.sh
RAPIDMINER_HOME is not set. Trying the directory '/home/stephen/Desktop/rapidminer-studio'...
WARNING: An illegal reflective access operation has occurred