Options

How to add a custom connection type in rapidminer

KanikaAg15KanikaAg15 Member Posts: 19 Contributor I
Hi, I am trying to access the data that is present in a shared place over the web URL which is not listed among the default connection types available in rapidminer. Please help in suggesting how to access the same. 
Tagged:

Best Answer

• Options
    Mo_AbdolrahimMo_Abdolrahim Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
    Solution Accepted
    Hi Kanika,
    I checked the RM Studio v10 and did not see a connection for downloading a shared file (no credentials) over the Internet. Hopefully I am right, because I am new to RM.

I noticed the RM provides two providers, Execute Script and Execute Program.  You can write a program with your favorite script, that downloads a web URL file to a disk file, compile, create an executable and use it in Execute Program operator.
    Or write a Java or Groovy script in the Execute Script operator.  This Operator executes the Java or Groovy script in RM process. The script downloads a web URL to a disk file.  Then you can use the Read CSV operator (i am summing its a csv file) to read the data and perform further analytics in RM.

The following Java script downloads classfeb.csv file from the local server and saves it to c:\mo\classfeb.csv file.
    You should modify the values for the file_url and disk_file variables.

import java.io.FileOutputStream;
    import java.io.IOException;
    import java.net.URL;
    import java.nio.channels.Channels;
    import java.nio.channels.ReadableByteChannel;
    import java.io.File;

public class Main{
       public static void main(String[] args){
         try{
            String file_url = "http://localhost/classfeb.csv";  // URL File to be downloaded to a diskfile
            String disk_file = "c:\\mo\\classfeb.csv";  // file location on disk
        URL link = new URL(file_url);
            ReadableByteChannel channel = Channels.newChannel(link.openStream());