Options

Find dependencies in multivariate timeseries

OzoneOzone Member Posts: 17 Contributor II
Hello,

its my first time using this community. My problem is:
I have time series data with various attributes which are correlated with each other very different. (Timeseries of weather data)
Now I have one label attribute (observations) which is forecasted by a deterministic physical model.

The task is to identify outliers and to determine in which situations the physical model is bad and why. Maybe some of the other attributes are forecasted very bad and so the label attribute is, too.

I tried some models (linear regression,neural nets, svm, decision trees, naive bayes) to predict these outliers. I got some good performance but I dont know how to interpret these results. Maybe this problem is to complex but the goal is to clearly identify the reason for a specific outlier. At least I want to make some qualitative statements like "when wind comes from north, the probability for outliers is higher than when wind comes from south".

Maybe you have some similar problems or ideas for my problem.

Thanks a lot for your help. Maybe you can recommend some operators for this problem.

Thomas

Answers

• Options
    IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder
    Hi Thomas,

well, "some operators"? I could recommend the complete RapidMiner package since it is also designed for tasks like yours. I cannot do my consulting work for free here but at least some hints:

- in general I would ask myself: is the physical model a ground truth? If yes, I don't get why there are "outliers" at all;

- if it's deterministic, the outliers are not really outliers but, well, let's call them "unexpected";