Options

Samples / Help for Location Process

AlexOAlexO Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hello,

I have the following task to explore:
We want to predict the position of a WiFi Client in a certain room. We have the positions of the Access-Points and the RSSI-Values (WLAN field strength).

I watched the tutorials 1-8 on youtube and tested with the decision tree in the Studio 7.1. I am a beginner in datamining and it is hard for me to rate if this is the right way.  ???

Has anybody samples for the given task, or for similar tasks?
Is the "decision tree" the right process in the Studio to get a good result?

Thank you!

Regards

AlexO

Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,511 RM Data Scientist
    Alex,

thanks for trying out RapidMiner! I think there are some ways you can get better.

First of all most problems of data science are about representation of the data. How does you table look like? I assume you have something like:

Truth WIFI-Strength1, WIFI-Strength2, WIFI-Strength3

etc? Thinking about a useful representation is key.

My peronal feeling (if you have some similar representation) is, that a different model might be better. My feeling says that a Logistic Regression or SVM in a Polynominal by Binominal Classification operator might make sense.

Can you please tell us a bit more about the structure of your data?

Best,
    Martin
    - Sr. Director Data Solutions, Altair RapidMiner -
    Dortmund, Germany
  • Options
    JEdwardJEdward RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 578 Unicorn
    There is an academic paper somewhere that used RapidMiner to calculate the location of people using wifi signal strengh.  I'm not sure where it is though. 

Try search google scholar for RapidMiner + wifi or signal strength that should give you some pointers.