Options

"[SOLVED] R Plugin very slow 'Initializing Plugin GUI'"

pofigsterpofigster Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited June 2019 in Help
Howdy everybody.  I'm very new to RapidMiner and I'm loving a lot of what I'm seeing.  When I read I could integrate R I was chomping at the bit to try it out.

Initially, I had R 3.0.2 installed, added the R Plugin to RapidMiner and tried to follow the instructions on first startup.  It took me a while to figure out how to add environment variables, but I now have an %R_HOME%, %JAVA_HOME% and added %R_HOME%\bin\x64 to the PATH variable (separating it from the previous value with a ;).  When I restarted RapidMiner it loads to a point until it says 'Initializing Plugin GUI' and just sits there.  Occasionally (and seemingly randomly) the window to select the RCRAN Mirror pops up (and I pick the OH server).  I assumed it had crashed trying to do something, so I uninstalled the extension and reinstalled it to see what would happen.  Same thing.

Next I thought it might be there were changes in R 3.x that broke the extension (they broke the link to JMP 10).  I uninstalled R 3.0.2 and installed R 2.15.3 - same thing.  Then I started writing this post to see why it was crashing and after several minutes, it finally loaded.  I was excited and added an R script node but messed up something so a simple operation was taking too long.  I closed RapidMiner and reopened it and it's just as slow the second time (so it wasn't just an initial setup thing).

Is there something I can do to speed up the launching of RapidMiner and still keep the R Plugin?  Have I done something wrong?

Thanks!
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    MariusHelfMariusHelf RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,869 Unicorn
    Hi,

which operating system are you using? How much memory is available for RapidMiner?

Did you install rJava from the R console?

Usually the RCRAN mirror dialog should not pop up during the startup of RapidMiner.

Best regards,
    Marius